I can’t believe I’ve never shared my nougat recipe with you before. What was I thinking?? I discovered the technique when I was trying to make another recipe for popcorn marshmallow lollipops.  It went completely wrong, and all the popcorn fell off the sticks whilst I was taking the photos, but I found that the melted marshmallows transformed into a denser (is that even a word?), less squishy form once cooled. A bit of experimentation later - with the addition of some confectioner’s sugar and peanut butter - and I had a simple nougat that I could not stop eating.

Not longer after, I used the technique to make the nougat layer in some Snickers Brownies I made for Simply Stacie’s blog (check out the recipe - especially if you’re gluten intolerant - they’re naturally gluten free):

That was back in March, and I completely forgot to show you the nougat on my own blog. Grovelling apologies!!! Let me make it up to you by sharing it with you today over a nice cup of coffee.

Give it a go, it only takes 5-10 minutes to melt down the ingredients (they look like a lumpy, gooey mess at first, but it will melt down into a relatively smooth mixture). Then you can let it set and cool for 10 minutes before eating it. Or if you’re patient, you can let it cool completely before dipping it in chocolate. Or… ….if you’re impatient, but you still need the chocolate, then leave it to cool, but spend the next 10 minutes eating any remains that have been left in the pan and on your spatula.

Don’t be ashamed - we’re technically saving the planet by being less wasteful.

The 5 Ingredient Chocolate Peanut Nougat Recipe:

5 Ingredient Chocolate Peanut Nougat - 545 Ingredient Chocolate Peanut Nougat - 345 Ingredient Chocolate Peanut Nougat - 495 Ingredient Chocolate Peanut Nougat - 495 Ingredient Chocolate Peanut Nougat - 725 Ingredient Chocolate Peanut Nougat - 545 Ingredient Chocolate Peanut Nougat - 705 Ingredient Chocolate Peanut Nougat - 15