This post is written in collaboration with the Breville, using the Blend Active Accessory pack. I promised another warm smoothie, and here it is! Warm and comforting - it’s like having a thick and filling hot chocolate, but without all the added sugar! Plus you can drink it for breakfast. Yes, I’m legitimately having chocolate for breakfast - because it’s mixed with oats, chia seeds and maca powder. That stuff definitely negates the chocolate. Besides, it’s just a bit of dark chocolate, which I firmly believe is good for you in it’s own right anyway.  

Is it working? Are you with me on the chocolate-for-breakfast thing? Yay! ???????? I’m a bit obsessed with warm smoothies. I think it stems from being a wuss when it comes to cold weather. And mornings. I’m not a morning person. Let me stay up till 3am then sleep till 10am please (if only). So when I do drag my backside out of bed (especially when it’s cold outside of my nice snugly duvet) the last thing I want to do is chug down a freezing green smoothie! Refreshing in winter? Nope. I don’t want refreshing. I want warm, and filling, and creamy and chocolatey. That might just get me out of bed.

This lovely addition to my warm smoothie collection (this latest one brings it up to TEN warm smoothies!!) is made in the compact food processor, with is part of the Blend Active Accessory Pack for the Breville Blend Active. The accessory pack adds lots of extra functionality to the Blend Active - so it’s quick and simple to whizz up smoothies like this! Lots of lovely fresh coconut, oats and almond milk, plus a bit of banana for sweetness and a few other goodies, combine to make a smooth, energizing and FAST breakfast. I also used the grinding mill to chop up some extra almonds to sprinkle on top. Most of the ingredients are blended up together with a splash of water and some cold almond milk. The rest of the almond milk is heated with the dark chocolate and cacao powder and stirred in at the end. It’s not a good idea to put warm/hot liquids into your food processor/blender, so this stirring-in-the-hot-liquid-at-the-end method is the best way to get your warm smoothie fix!

The Almond Coconut Warm Smoothie Recipe:

 

Almond Coconut Warm Smoothie - 7Almond Coconut Warm Smoothie - 35Almond Coconut Warm Smoothie - 93Almond Coconut Warm Smoothie - 88Almond Coconut Warm Smoothie - 7Almond Coconut Warm Smoothie - 38