Bacon: A Love Story

I’d fallen in love with a hunter, and I’d been dabbling with eating poultry for a few months prior to that trip. My life was quickly changing. All night long, I laid awake in our tent listening to the howls and yips of coyotes coming from every direction. Consequently, when I finally did fall asleep, I slept late, and didn’t notice when my then boyfriend (now husband) left the tent to start breakfast. He brought along unseasoned turkey sausage for me, and bacon—real, smoky crispy bacon—for him. When I emerged from the tent, he handed me a plate of pale and unappetizing turkey sausage (this was 16 years ago; turkey sausage has come a long way since then). Then, he sat down to eat the crispy strips of bacon he’d fried up for himself. I couldn’t help myself. I tried a piece and that was the beginning of the end. I ate ALL THE BACON that day. All of it. We hiked all morning, then stopped at a café in a nearby town for lunch. I ate my first BLT since early childhood. Of course, I ordered it with extra bacon. It was what dreams were made of: smoky, salty, sweet. I ended up getting terribly sick, probably because my body wasn’t used to it. But I fought my way through. It was another six years before I ate beef, but after letting my body adjust, I started to enjoy bacon in moderation.

Bacon Jam for Burgers

I have to say bacon jam on a juicy grilled burger is one of the best things this side of Fort Robinson. It allows me to enjoy the essence of bacon without revisiting my earlier over-indulgences. Bacon jam balances sweet and salty flavors for a burger topping that takes your backyard barbecue to the next level.

How to Make Bacon Jam

The time it takes to make the recipe is mostly wrapped up in frying the bacon. Once that’s done the rest of it comes together quickly, and in one pan, no less. Feel free to dice the bacon as small as you like, but I prefer larger 1-inch pieces chunks of bacon. It’s not so big that you can’t bite through it along with the fixings, but it’s still substantial enough that you get a good taste of bacon with every bite. Think of it like big pieces of smoky, bacon bits floating in a sea of sweet sauce. It takes me back to the bacon and maple syrup flavors of my childhood.

Ways to Use Bacon Jam

This jam pairs well with other burger toppings such as lettuce, mayo, and red onion or our blue cheese burger sauce. Add it to grilled cheese sandwiches, spoon it into soups, add it to a holiday cheese plate, top your salad, or add it to roasted vegetables. And if you think more bacon is always better, what about bacon jam to a BLT? The possibilities are endless.

More Great Toppings for Burgers!

Blue Cheese Sauce Tomato Jam Chimichurri Thousand Island Dressing Dr Pepper BBQ Sauce

So make this and freeze it if you need to, but don’t can it.

More Ways to Use Bacon Jam

Readers have shared some of their own great ideas for using this bacon jam.

Mary spreads it on pizza as a base and tops it with mozzarella cheese. Gail used it on cooked asparagus. You can even think of it as a chunky, savory-sweet version of Better than Bouillon and plop a spoonful into chili, soup, and stew recipes.

What to Do With Bacon Grease

Yes, you’ll have leftover bacon grease from making this. Either pour it into a can, let it solidify, and then pitch it…or save it to use in recipes. Never pour bacon fat down the drain, as it can cause clogs. Stir occasionally, until the fat is rendered and the bacon is browned, but not burned or overly crispy. Scoop out the first batch of cooked bacon with a slotted spoon, and drain it on a paper towel-lined plate. Cook the remaining batch. This should take about 25 to 30 minutes total for both batches. Add the onion and garlic to the skillet and cook until the onions are translucent, about 6 minutes. Reduce the heat to medium low, and simmer uncovered, stirring occasionally, until the liquid turns syrupy and almost completely evaporates—this should take about 30 minutes. To reheat, zap it in the microwave for about 45 seconds or warm it in a small saucepan on the stove over medium heat, stirring occasionally until heated through, about 10 minutes.