It’s Christmas in 3 days and we’re all running around like mad people! If you’re anything like me you’re probably snacking on all sorts of Christmas goodies - which leaves little room for fruit and other healthy stuff. If you have been following me for a while now you probably know i LOVE granola! So I made these Blueberry and Greek Yoghurt Granola Bars as a way to get something good and healthy in me early on in the day before all the bad influences start kicking in.  Easy to grab from the side and eat on the run, they leave no excuse for having to resort to mini cheddars and an After Eight for breakfast.  Not that I, erm, ever do that. Apart from the Greek yoghurt drizzle, I purposely made these bars not too sweet - relying on only a ⅓ of a tbsp. of honey in each bar for sweetness.  I use a mix of fresh and dried blueberries in the mix.  The fresh berries not only add a pop of tart juiciness to the bars, but, because I squish them before adding them in, they help to bind the mix whilst keeping the bars moist too.  I also use a few other binders:

Greek yoghurt - also adds moisture and creaminess to the bars Coconut oil - so good for you, and it also helps to ensure an outer golden crunch The previously mentioned honey - adds just a touch of sweetness One egg white - I only include this to ensure the bars don’t crumble as soon as you try to cut them.  I tried it without the egg white, and they don’t cut nearly as well.

The drizzle on top is made from Greek yoghurt and a powdered sugar.  You only need a little, so I think using the powdered sugar is fine.  However you can leave it out if you want to be extra good.

  No Bake Peanut Butter Granola Bars Cherry Bakewell Granola Bars Chocolate Coconut Granola Coconut macaron granola Cranberry Nut sugar free granola

The Blueberry and Greek Yoghurt Granola Bars Recipe:

 

Blueberry and Greek Yoghurt Granola Bars - 99Blueberry and Greek Yoghurt Granola Bars - 89Blueberry and Greek Yoghurt Granola Bars - 70Blueberry and Greek Yoghurt Granola Bars - 13