I’m back with the crumble again.  I can’t seem to stop.  I think I may be starting to like crumble topping more than…. Chocolate? No it can’t be.  After all I’m a self confessed chocoholic.  I could probably count on one hand the number of days I haven’t eaten chocolate in the last 6 months.  They say the first step to dealing with an addiction is to admit it to yourself.  Well I do admit it. I just don’t see it as a problem. I wonder how chocolate crumble would taste? I’ll try to push that though out of my mind, but in reality I know that the part of my brain responsible for my chocolate addiction is biding it’s time before flooding my head with the desire to go and make it. I have to say, it’ll be hard-pressed to beat this crunchy, juicy blueberry crumble slice though.  I first saw the recipe for this on a blog call Flavour Mosaic.  The pictures of the juicy jamminess of the blueberries went straight on one of my pinterest boards and I kept going back and drooling over it until I made it.  And then I made it two more times in the same week. One of the things that totally stood out for me was that the base of the crumble slice is made up of exactly the same ingredients as the topping.  Just squashed together more.  Double crumble whammy yay! I made a few small adjustments to quantities, and I also made a bigger batch to fit my baking tray.  My tray is 32.5cm(12.8")x18.5cm(7.3") with a depth of 3.5cm(1.4").  Don’t worry too much about the sizes though.  You could got for a smaller-but-deeper bake if you wanted.  It’ll just need a bit longer in the oven.  Or you could go for a square or round baking tin so long as your base comes in at around 500cm-600cm squared.  I like to cut my slices into small squares.  So I end up with 32 little slices out of this.  Of course, you can go bigger and get 18 slices out of it if you wish. For this recipe, you’re simply going to make the crumble mixture in one bowl.  Then spoon out half of it into your baking tray and squash it down into a kind of crumbly biscuit.  Then you’re going to combine sugar, lemon juice, cornstarch and blueberries and layer this on your base.  The addition of the cornstarch is what helps to create that glossy, jammy look, and also stops the blueberries from just turning to liquid and seeping into the base.  Finally you’ll sprinkly the remaining crumble mixture on top, and bake until the topping is golden brown.

The Blueberry Crumble Slice Recipe:

< p style=“text-align: center;">  Nutritional info obtained from caloriecount.about.com per serving (based on 32 bite-sized servings)  

Blueberry Crumble Slice - 13Blueberry Crumble Slice - 1Blueberry Crumble Slice - 37