Cheese and Bacon Bread Boats

When my mother saw a photo of this, she laughed out loud and said “you really come up with some odd ideas, don’t you?”. I paused a moment and wondered, would this be too weird to share? Then I decided, heck, no way! I love this. It is so yummy. It really does taste like a quiche, but with a significantly higher crunch factor. It is SO GOOD that I have to share it! I actually saw this on a blog called Deliciously Declassified many months ago. It’s been on my list of things to make for ages and when I finally did, I made it again and again and again…. It got to the point where I had built up a stash of about 8 of them in my freezer (oh yes, added bonus – they freeze really well!) and I had to start distributing them to my friends!

I’ve made a few variations so I’ve included suggestions for other fillings in the notes. Smoked salmon is especially good. And an “Italian” one that I made with chopped up bits of salami, olives and sun dried tomatoes. I even made it one with just cheese and egg and it was still delish! But I have to say, the bacon version is my favourite. It tastes just like a Quiche Lorraine. The inside is soft and custardy, cheesey and bacon-y. And the crust is sensational! I brush it with butter so it comes out extra crusty with a yummy buttery flavour. You’ll be surprised how little filling you need. I got greedy at first and tried to stuff lots of bacon in but then I had egg overflowing everywhere. So learn from my mistakes – don’t get greedy. A little goes a long way. 🙂 This is a great recipe for scaling up and down. I also made it with a longer baguette and shared it with friends. It is fantastic for feeding crowds because you can make them ahead and freeze them! Happy weekend! Egg boats for a lazy Sunday brunch? In your PJ’s, flopping around the house with your fluffy pink slippers, wild hair pulled back in a messy pony tail? (Oh wait, that’s me!) – Nagi

Things stuffed and baked into bread is a always good thing!

Cheesy Jalapeno Bacon Stuffed Baguette Pull Apart Pizza Bread No Washing Up Ham, Egg & Cheese Bread Bowls Leftovers Bread Bowl Sandwich Focaccia

Nutrition assuming you use lean bacon (which I did). SaveSave

Cheese and Bacon Bread Boats - 75Cheese and Bacon Bread Boats - 61Cheese and Bacon Bread Boats - 64Cheese and Bacon Bread Boats - 84