Even for a carb-loving girl like myself, these parmesan courgette (zucchini) fries are a great alternative to toast for dipping into those soft-boiled eggs. I’m pretty atrocious at dieting, but for the past 9 days, I have been following what Chris calls ’the ridiculous diet’. It was really an attempt at losing a few pounds in a way that stopped me getting bored (I generally never last more than 3.5 hours on any conventional diet). I did lose those few pounds (5lbs to be precise), and the fact that I managed to last 9 days whilst being 100% strict is a miracle. I’ll go into more detail about my diet in a separate post in the next week or two, but it’s fair to say that a few of those days were hard!! Recipes like these courgette fries were my saving grace that kept me going when I just wanted to stuff my face with valentine cookies and chocolate caramel brownies.

They’re so simple to make.  Just cut up your courgette into fingers, dip them in a little bit of egg and sprinkle with parmesan, before baking to golden crunchiness. To get the perfect soft boiled egg, I take two large eggs straight from the fridge.  Put them in a medium sized sauce pan and fill it with cold water until the water just covers them.  Then, on a high heat,  I bring the water to a rolling boil.  Once it’s boiling, I turn the heat off and set my timer for 3 minutes.  That’s it.  Works every time.

The Courgette Fries and the perfect Dippy Egg Recipe:

 

Courgette Fries and the perfect Dippy Egg - 87Courgette Fries and the perfect Dippy Egg - 43Courgette Fries and the perfect Dippy Egg - 87Courgette Fries and the perfect Dippy Egg - 38Courgette Fries and the perfect Dippy Egg - 51