Are you a soup or a sandwich person? Or maybe you’re a soup AND a sandwich person. Yeah, that’s me. Soup just doesn’t seem filling enough without something bready to dip in. Not this Creamy Chicken and Tortellini Soup though! The addition of some fresh, cured ham & cheese tortellini makes it a real belly-filler. My kids still managed to fit in a bit of bread though. I think they need the extra energy with all of the Nerf wars they’ve been having since Christmas. I’m finding Nerf bullets everywhere!!

I think they’re making up for lost time, as I banned Nerf guns in my house a few years ago when Lewis accidentally shot me in the eye with one - resulting in a trip to the hospital with a suspected detached retina (ouch!). It was ok though, just a bit of blurry vision that healed itself. Those Nerf guns all got chucked out though. I finally relented this Christmas, along with some protective goggles! Back to the Creamy Chicken and Tortellini Soup… It’s pretty simple to throw together. I use my chicken pot pie soup recipe as the base - although I used a ready-cooked rotisserie chicken instead of cooking the chicken as part of the soup.

The cooked chicken and tortellini gets thrown in right at the end, just to warm through before serving. This Creamy Chicken and Tortellini Soup is so comforting and delicious!  Click here for a list of all my favourite Soups.

The Recipe:

 

Creamy Chicken and Tortellini Soup - 53Creamy Chicken and Tortellini Soup - 29Creamy Chicken and Tortellini Soup - 90Creamy Chicken and Tortellini Soup - 3Creamy Chicken and Tortellini Soup - 16Creamy Chicken and Tortellini Soup - 59