You can serve it with everything and anything, it is a perfect side dish and a great option for a quick weeknight dinner for when time is of the essence.

Spinach Rice Recipe (Spanakorizo)

My version of spinach rice is a little bit different from the classic recipe because I didn’t cook the rice from raw, I used leftover cooked rice. I love the original version and make it once in a while, but today’s recipe is the way I use up leftover white rice and baby spinach lying in my fridge waiting to be used. I also find my easy version healthier than the other way, the spinach stays green, retain most of its nutrients and requires less cooking. By the way, the traditional spinach rice is also known as spanakorizo which means a dish of spinach and rice. I love the versatility of this recipe and for some reason, when I make this rice dish, I mostly pair it Piri Piri chicken (recipe coming soon). What can I say, the family loves it, just like they love me making this pressure cooker rice and chicken. This was our Easter Sunday rice.

This is the only rice side dish to serve with anything

Spinach rice is so versatile especially when cooked this way that you can serve it with chicken, fish, meat or on its own. You can also bulk this recipe as a main dish by adding some shredded chicken, roasted vegetables or flaked salmon. I make this rice part of our Meatless Monday meal as we are big rice eaters in my home especially me, I could eat rice 5 times a week. Yeah, I know what you are thinking. I can’t help it. Right, this is supposed to be a quick post, let me show you quickly how I make my easy spinach rice (Spanakorizo) with this step by step guide and instruction on how to make it with raw rice.

Ingredients

Cooked basmati rice: I mostly eat and cook basmati, but you can use any other types of rice you want. I recommend using easy cook rice or white rice as it cooks a lot faster than brown rice and that the way you are able still enjoy all the nutrients from the spinach. Baby spinach: you can use any type of spinach for this recipe. Onion Olive oil: sub for any flavourless cooking oil including coconut oil and ghee. Chicken bouillon powder: substitute with vegetable powder to make this recipe complete vegan or vegetarian. Salt and pepper Garlic powder Dried dill: sub with fresh one or leave it out if not available Lemon juice

How to make easy spinach rice (Spanakorizo)

Here’s how to make the best and easiest spanakorizo that turns out perfect and fresh at all times. Place a pan on medium heat, add olive oil and heat until hot. Add chopped onions to the hot oil and saute until soft, fragrant and translucent. Add chopped spinach and stir until it wilts, season with salt, dill (if using) black pepper, garlic granules and chicken bouillon powder. Add cooked rice and stir together until well combined. Finish the dish off with a squeeze of lemon juice. Take it off the heat, serve and enjoy.

Spinach rice with raw basmati rice

Sauté the onions on medium heat until soft and translucent and spinach then continue to cook until wilted. add washed basmati rice and stir to combine, followed by dill, garlic granules, pepper and salt then stir to combine. Pour chicken stock over the rice and stir to combine. Cover the pan with its lid and simmer for 20 minutes or until rice is cooked and fluffy. Take it off the heat and serve as desired.

How to store this recipe

This easy side dish rice stores well in the fridge for up to 3 days in an airtight container. Store in the freezer for up to 2 months. Make sure the rice cools down completely before storing. To reheat: you can reheat in a microwave or the stove top.

Other easy recipes you would love

Instant pot Mexican rice Easy oven roasted drumsticks Homemade vegetable soup Easy Lentil curry Instant pot fish If you made this easy Greek rice recipe, don’t forget to leave me feedback and rate it 5 stars. Tag me @thedinnerbite on Instagram and save away to your Pinterest. Please subscribe to the blog if you haven’t for free new recipes in your inbox DID YOU MAKE THIS RECIPE? PLEASE RATE IT AND LEAVE ME A COMMENT. USE #THEDINNERBITE OR TAG @THEDINNERBITE ON INSTAGRAM SO I CAN SEE YOUR PHOTOS, I WOULD LOVE TO SEE YOUR CREATIONS. THANK YOU!

Easy Spinach Rice Recipe  Spanakorizo  - 79Easy Spinach Rice Recipe  Spanakorizo  - 11Easy Spinach Rice Recipe  Spanakorizo  - 22Easy Spinach Rice Recipe  Spanakorizo  - 30Easy Spinach Rice Recipe  Spanakorizo  - 14Easy Spinach Rice Recipe  Spanakorizo  - 50Easy Spinach Rice Recipe  Spanakorizo  - 51Easy Spinach Rice Recipe  Spanakorizo  - 53