A great Cabbage Salad for everything!

Keeping this post short and sweet because it’s an extra recipe I’m publishing today alongside the Brown Sugar Garlic Butter Pork Roast! The dressing is a bit tangy (not sharp) with a touch of sweet, and it’s neutral enough to serve alongside almost any main, any Cuisine. I’d serve it as a side for almost any Western dish, it’s certainly at home with European dishes (Eastern and Western), South American and even Indian and Asian. It’s an excellent stand by salad because cabbage holds up so well once chopped, so you can keep bags of the shredded cabbage in the fridge alongside a jar of the dressing, then toss it together when you need it. Give it a bit of time to wilt, just like Coleslaw – the cabbage will sag and the salad becomes nice and juicy. Nobody wants to try to shove stiff bits of cabbage sticking out everywhere into their mouth!!

What I put in Cabbage Salad

I make this with just green cabbage (any type) or when I want to add a splash of colour, I mix it up with purple cabbage and carrot, as pictured. A touch of green onion wouldn’t go astray either, but there’s enough tang in the dressing such that it’s not required.

What this goes with

I call this my Everyday Cabbage Salad because it’s just that. Serve it with everything from Schnitzel to Pan Fried Fish, Meatloaf to Baked Chicken Breasts. Try it with these fabulous Sun Dried Tomato Stuffed Chicken breasts, quick crispy Garlic Chicken Thighs or these sticky Country Baked Pork Chops. With a few little tweaks I’ve suggested in the recipe notes, it can be easily transformed into an Asian Salad to have as a side with any Asian food, including Chinese, Thai and Vietnamese. 🙂 Enjoy! – Nagi x

LIFE OF DOZER

When Dozer came dress shopping…. I live in a very dog friendly area!

Everyday Cabbage Salad - 89Everyday Cabbage Salad - 88Everyday Cabbage Salad - 27Everyday Cabbage Salad - 47Everyday Cabbage Salad - 42