Warm fruity bread for breakfast without having to get up at 5am to get it ready for breakfast! This bread requires no yeast, no kneading and no proving time.  You can have it out of the oven and cooling in an hour. I’ve always loved fruit toast for breakfast, and usually buy it in for weekends if I’m not making pancakes or sweet grilled sandwiches.  I’ve discovered recently just how easy it is to make though.  A simple case of mixing your dry ingredients, mixing your wet ingredients, combing them together into a rough cob shape and giving it an egg wash before sticking it in the oven. The result is a rustic looking bread like this:

It’s also great toasted the next day (and will even just about stretch to a third day, toasted). The kids love it - they call it cake bread, and they love just ramming handfuls of the unbuttered bread in their mouths as a snack, before running back outside to play in the garden. I’d recommend using the fattest, juiciest raisins you can find to get a nice burst of chewy stickiness with each mouthful.  I’m tempted to try soaking some raisins in orange juice first on my next batch of this.  I’ll update this post with the results when I do.

Fruit Soda Bread Recipe:

Nutritional info obtained from caloriecount.about.com - based on 14 slices

Fruit Soda Bread - 83Fruit Soda Bread - 17Fruit Soda Bread - 58Fruit Soda Bread - 5