I couldn’t serve a soup without toppings. I just don’t have it in me. Toppings can turn a simple soup into something memorable. A dinner rather than lunch. A weeknight meal without lots of faff. Some of my favourite toppings include cheddar potato skin croutons, and bacon-fried-bread croutons. Most soups have a pretty healthy base, so I figure I can splurge a little on the toppings 🙂 I guess chunky soups are different - my chicken pot pie soup or corned beef hash soup get off lightly with a sprinkling of fresh herbs.  I suppose it’s because whilst I love soup, I also love some texture in there, this Hidden Veg Tomato Soup with Gruyere Bacon Croutons is no different.

Now the topping for this soup - Gruyere & Bacon toasted sandwich, is probably a meal in itself. But this way, you can divide one toasted sandwich between 3 or 4 people (ok, maybe two, if you’re really hungry). With a tinned-tomato base for the soup, it also has onion, sweet potato and red pepper thrown in. They add a hint of sweetness, although you might also want to add a pinch of sugar if your tinned tomatoes are on the acidic side.

The sweet potato also adds a lovely creaminess to the Hidden Veg Tomato Soup with Gruyere Bacon Croutons, so it doesn’t really need that cream swirl at the end (but I like it anyway because it’s pretty).

The Recipe:

   

Hidden Veg Tomato Soup with Gruyere Bacon Croutons - 39Hidden Veg Tomato Soup with Gruyere Bacon Croutons - 17Hidden Veg Tomato Soup with Gruyere Bacon Croutons - 88Hidden Veg Tomato Soup with Gruyere Bacon Croutons - 39Hidden Veg Tomato Soup with Gruyere Bacon Croutons - 44