Not long till it’s holiday time, and I really want to feel good in pretty fitted t-shirts and the dreaded swimming costume! This is one of my lighter options for a quick and tasty mid-week meal that satisfies the take-away craving, but without that horrible too-full feeling afterwards! I know cauliflower rice has been doing the rounds for ages now, but I think it’s here to stay!

It’s always the first thing I think of when I’m planning meals that are easy-on-the-waistline. I use chicken thighs in this stir fry - as they’re lovely and tender. You can replace with chicken breast if you like, but they can have a tendency to be a little drier when fried. I like to add plenty of veggies - peppers, mushrooms, kale, mangetout - and cook them up with a simple Chinese-inspired sauce using soy sauce (replace with tamari for gluten free), garlic, ginger, honey and a few other goodies. Make sure you have plenty of cauliflower in if you’re serving more than two people. One small cauliflower, when grated, does cook down a fair bit, and will serve 2 people (three at a push). I fry mine up with a little olive oil, egg and soy sauce.

If you do happen to have any cauliflower left over, my cauliflower arancini makes filled with boursin cheese, makes a tasty (and not too naughty) snack! I first made this recipe for Superfood Magazine.

The Honey and Garlic Chicken Stir Fry with Cauliflower Egg Fried Rice Recipe:

Honey and Garlic Chicken Stir Fry with Cauliflower Egg Fried Rice - 78Honey and Garlic Chicken Stir Fry with Cauliflower Egg Fried Rice - 62Honey and Garlic Chicken Stir Fry with Cauliflower Egg Fried Rice - 21Honey and Garlic Chicken Stir Fry with Cauliflower Egg Fried Rice - 20Honey and Garlic Chicken Stir Fry with Cauliflower Egg Fried Rice - 76Honey and Garlic Chicken Stir Fry with Cauliflower Egg Fried Rice - 51Honey and Garlic Chicken Stir Fry with Cauliflower Egg Fried Rice - 19