These mini burritos went down a treat at our Boxing day buffet. I’ve got to admit, we don’t really do much for New Years eve.  We get all our partying out of the way within a few days after Christmas.  For us, New Years eve consists of a nice meal and then snacks in front of the TV (so errr the same as most nights then). We just about manage to flick over to the New Years countdown in time to see the clock strike midnight.  Then we sleepily watch the televised fireworks before turning the TV off and going to bed.  So boring I know.  I’d much rather go out on a night that’s not freezing, packed, serving over-priced drinks and impossible to get a taxi home from.  I prefer somewhere warm and not too noisy so we can have a conversation. Oh dear god.  I sound like I’m 85 - not 35!! People say marriage and kids does that to you, but I don’t see that as a bad thing.  I love my family and home! I also love listening to my husband with his ridiculous grumpy-old-man comments on an number of things.  He’s quite comedic with his moans, so it’s not hard to put up with.  Although they say it get’s worse with age.  He’s only 32, so I dread to think what he’s going to be like in his 70’s. His grumpiest comments usually come when I tell him I’m making a fish-based or vegetarian dinner.  He’s a dedicated carnivore, so I have to work hard to find meat-free dishes like these and these that pass the Chris test. These burritos on the other hand were sure to be a hit.  Filled with leftover slow-cooked beef, rice, salsa, spring onions and melty cheese all packed into tiny, hand-held parcels, I don’t think anyone could resist. I used a round (9cm diameter) cookie cutter to get the little tortillas.  You should get 5 mini tortillas from a large one.  Each tortilla is topped with a tbsp. of shredded beef, a tsp of cooked rice, a tsp of spring onions/scallions, half a tsp of salsa and a small pinch of cheese. You won’t be able to completely wrap and fold them.  I just rolled them up (without sealing the ends of the tortilla) then wrapped them in foil and twisted the ends shut. Once they’re all sealed, place them on a baking tray in the fridge. Bring them back up to room temperature before cooking (about half an hour out of the fridge should do it).  Then cook for 10 minutes at 170c/325f until piping hot inside. Serve them with a sour cream dip.

The Mini Bite Size Burritos Recipe:

 

Mini Bite Size Burritos - 77Mini Bite Size Burritos - 60Mini Bite Size Burritos - 45Mini Bite Size Burritos - 53Mini Bite Size Burritos - 21Mini Bite Size Burritos - 37