Also see Baked Mushroom Rice!

A Mushroom recipe for mushroom lovers!

This one is for mushrooms lovers! Though….in all honesty, I know not of any mushroom haters. I’m a Banana Hater (slimy horrible, stinky thing!). I know a hater of all things “bouncy” (fish cakes, tofu etc), a capsicum hater, and a hater of all things that smell like…..errr…. wind. Egg, popcorn and corn apparently fall into this category. But I’ve never heard of a Mushroom Hater. Have you?? This recipe is pretty straight forward. It has a giant mound of mushrooms in it – 750g / 1.5 lb to be exact – which does take time to cook until golden. But the cooking part is a cinch.

How to make Mushroom Rice (my way!)

There are a couple of things I think I do differently to most Mushroom Rice recipes. Nothing schmancy, this is just the way I do it: *It’s called fond! That’s the technical term. 🙂

What to serve with Mushroom Rice

Personally, I’m happy scoffing down a giant bowl of this as a meal in itself! But it usually makes an appearance as a side dish. I can’t think of any main that it wouldn’t go well with – and it also pairs well with any cuisines as well. It’s just as at home alongside your favourite Roast Chicken as it is with Chinese BBQ Pork. I’d serve it with Steak with Creamy Peppercorn Sauce, a Steak with Argentinian Chimichurri Sauce or even a Steak with a Japanese Butter Sauce. And here are a few suggestions for some quick and easy main dishes that Mushroom Rice would be a terrific side for:

Quick mains to serve with Mushroom Rice

Enjoy! – Nagi x

Watch how to make it

Rice with Mushrooms recipe video! Note the part where I add some of the broth to deglaze the pot and it turns a dark brown colour, that’s why my rice is brown (and extra tasty! 😉 ).

 

More Mushroom recipes – for mushroom lovers!

There’s a LOT of mushroom recipes around here….and I don’t see myself stopping anytime soon!

Life of Dozer

Mmm…. Mushroom Rice….

SaveSave SaveSave

Mushroom Rice - 44Mushroom Rice - 74Mushroom Rice - 85Mushroom Rice - 66Mushroom Rice - 38