I’m trying to cut back on the carbs and OMG I NEED this cake right now. Prawns, cheese, eggs, bacon, almond milk lattes - they sound so good at the time you decide to ‘be good’ but after literally half a day, I want cake, or a crumpet or just a bloomin banana!

The whole low carb, high fat thing is one I do when I need a quick fix (way better than the 3 day diet - have you heard of that one? Who wants dry tuna and dry toast blurgggh). I’ve even started a Pinterest board to help me find a few interesting ideas. I’m sticking to it for a few days so that I can tell my personal trainer I lost a couple of pounds this week (unlike last week where I had to admit to putting on a pound. Curse those fruit pastilles!).

This cake though? oh yes, I’ll be making it again soon.

Made with ground almonds, I decided at the last minute to also use plain gluten free flour. You can do it with or without (a like-for-like swap with regular plain flour), but if you’re sharing your cake and don’t know whether any of the eaters are going to be gluten intolerant, this is a great cake that everybody will love.

Check out a few more of my gluten-free cakes here: Flourless Chocolate Cherry Cake Chocolate caramel mug cake Turkish Delight brownies Or if you’re going through the torture of a low carb diet - try a couple of these to keep you sane: Thai prawns with cauliflower rice Brazilian fish stew One-pot turkey meatballs with courgetti

The Orange Drizzle Cake with Candied Orange Peel Recipe:

Orange Drizzle Cake with Candied Orange Peel - 73Orange Drizzle Cake with Candied Orange Peel - 15Orange Drizzle Cake with Candied Orange Peel - 69Orange Drizzle Cake with Candied Orange Peel - 62Orange Drizzle Cake with Candied Orange Peel - 76Orange Drizzle Cake with Candied Orange Peel - 78Orange Drizzle Cake with Candied Orange Peel - 91Orange Drizzle Cake with Candied Orange Peel - 58Orange Drizzle Cake with Candied Orange Peel - 71Orange Drizzle Cake with Candied Orange Peel - 55