Can anyone ever say no to a pile of pancakes? Sweet fluffy carb-iness, topped with anything your heart desires (we’re talking food desires here - not your husband tidying the house and presenting you with your kindle and a large box of chocolates just because). Nutella and a huge pile of berries are usually our go-to toppings on a Sunday morning (I don’t let the kids have Nutella during the week, so they really enjoy it on a Sunday).

I wanted to do something a little different for pancake day (my savoury pancakes with bacon and chilli butter are still serious contenders), so I thought I’d go taco style!!

3 reasons:

My taco pancakes are filled with caramelized peaches. Given extra flavour with a splash of vanilla extract, then sprinkled with soft-brown sugar and cooked on the griddle until sticky and sweet. I whipped up some sweetened cream (see my tip in the recipe on stabilizing your cream so you can make it ahead without it seizing or going too firm) and piped it on, then finished with the ultimate savoury peach-pairing: crispy pancetta ???????? - oh, and a little sprinkle of thyme, because it looks pretty, and lends itself well to sweet and savoury flavours. I had kids and husband stood in line, waiting for the photos to be finished so they could demolish them the moment I turned off the camera.

The Pancake Tacos with Caramelized Peaches and Pancetta Recipe:

 

Pancake Tacos with Caramelized Peaches and Pancetta - 18Pancake Tacos with Caramelized Peaches and Pancetta - 78Pancake Tacos with Caramelized Peaches and Pancetta - 56Pancake Tacos with Caramelized Peaches and Pancetta - 16Pancake Tacos with Caramelized Peaches and Pancetta - 94Pancake Tacos with Caramelized Peaches and Pancetta - 71Pancake Tacos with Caramelized Peaches and Pancetta - 74