As you may know, I’m not usually a fan of icy smoothies (like my Rainbow Smoothie) in the winter. They make me feel cold, miserable and in need of a large latte with a bacon butty. I’d usually go for one of my hot smoothies instead (Oaty hot chocolate smoothie is my favourite). However, I was kind of forced into it because of my mini ‘ridiculous’ diet that I did a couple of weeks ago (which I’ll tell you all about on Wednesday) and I have to say, it was delicious! I didn’t actually add any ice (only insane people do this in February in the UK – sorry if that’s you, but really? Ice? Brrrrrr!), so I suppose it was more of a cool smoothie than a chilled one. I also added avocado – which I’ve never added to a smoothie before. I’m the only one in the house who likes it, so I don’t often buy them. It resulted in a lovely smooth creaminess that was complimented by the banana. Now, the pineapple? Make sure you go for a ripe, sweet pineapple. Since there’s only half a banana in this smoothie, you’re relying on the pineapple to sweeten up the savoury effect of the kale and avocado. I finished off this Pineapple Avocado Detox Smoothie with some almonds and chia seeds – to give it an extra nutritional punch. I’ll never give up on my hot smoothies, but this is definitely one to add to my list of cool smoothies that you can drink in winter even if you’re a cold-hating wuss. Try it - you’ll feel satisfied, energised and positively glowing!

The Pineapple Avocado Detox Smoothie Recipe:

 

Pineapple Avocado Detox Smoothie - 55Pineapple Avocado Detox Smoothie - 61Pineapple Avocado Detox Smoothie - 40