Ah, isn’t it pretty? Normally I’m not great at making desserts look pretty, but fortunately for me, the decoration on this plum tart is fool proof! Piles of juicy ripe plums are layered on top of soft almond frangipane and encased with buttery-sweet pastry. Just pass the cream right now. Forget dessert, I want this for breakfast!! Don’t be put off with the homemade pastry. I’m usually the first to applaude the ready-made stuff you can buy in the shops, but this one is extra easy and beautifully crumbly. With a bit of help from the fridge to chill this pastry, you don’t even need to roll it out! Here’s why: Yep, my big pastry sausage is cut into slices that layer the bottom and sides of my flan dish. Then that pastry is squished down using your hands until all the gaps are covered. This creates a slightly rustic feel to the tart that I LOVE! Why do I love rustic? Because it gives me permission to be slightly messy and make the odd mistake whilst claiming it’s supposed to look like that.

This Plum and Almond Tart with Homemade Pastry is perfectly portable and delicious served cold - so it’s great for picnics. It’s also amazing served slightly warm with a good drizzle of custard or cream!!

How about finishing your Easter dinner with a lovely slice!

The Plum and Almond Tart with Homemade Pastry Recipe:

Plum and Almond Tart with Homemade Pastry - 65Plum and Almond Tart with Homemade Pastry - 2Plum and Almond Tart with Homemade Pastry - 10Plum and Almond Tart with Homemade Pastry - 2Plum and Almond Tart with Homemade Pastry - 88Plum and Almond Tart with Homemade Pastry - 28Plum and Almond Tart with Homemade Pastry - 51Plum and Almond Tart with Homemade Pastry - 72