I can guarantee that 10 minutes after putting this on the table, every crumb will be gone. None of that ’no you have the last tortilla’ - this is an every-person-for-themselves dinner. If you get to the table too late? Tough. Nobody is saving you any. Wow, that was a little bullish wasn’t it. Sorry. I just really like them. I also like the fact that I don’t have to make it. With Kitchen Sanctuary and some of the other freelance recipe work I do, I spend a LOT of hours in the kitchen and  tend to do most of the cooking at home. I love whipping up recipes, but chilli is Chris’s domain, and I’m happy to put my feet up and watch cartoons with the kids whilst Chris is cooking up this totally delicious dinner.

It’s not too far off his original chilli recipe, but this one is made with chunks of pork and beef - rather than minced beef. He also cooks it with stout (rather than red wine) for a lovely rich flavour. It does feel kind of naughty getting through a whole packet of Doritos for this dinner, but you could always serve it with rice if you prefer. Chris often doubles this recipe up and we serve some on top of tortilla chips, then save the rest in 2-portion boxes in the freezer. Those freezer portions are perfect for a mid-week quick dinner served with rice or even used to make a chilli lasagne. Don’t be put off by the large ingredient list. You’ve probably got most of it in your cupboard already. Plus all of those ingredients result in a chilli with bags of flavour!

The Slow Cooked Pork and Beef Chilli Recipe:

 

Slow Cooked Pork and Beef Chilli - 60Slow Cooked Pork and Beef Chilli - 84Slow Cooked Pork and Beef Chilli - 98Slow Cooked Pork and Beef Chilli - 71Slow Cooked Pork and Beef Chilli - 93Slow Cooked Pork and Beef Chilli - 46