It feels like once a week I’m whipping together some kind of party food, and among my friends, I’ve become the person notorious for showing up with something that is heavy on the vegetable side, but still delicious.

Vegan Bean Dip

This sweet potato dip is sneaky . Its base is simple: roasted sweet potatoes and white beans (canned or made from scratch on the stovetop or in a pressure cooker). The flavor sweet potatoes take on from the roasting process is a concentrated flavor mixed with sweet and earthy. I love to pair that with the smoky spiciness of chipotle peppers. I keep a small bag of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce stashed in my freezer especially for making dips like this. I pull it out, add it to the dish. I also like using chipotle peppers in homemade chilis, enchilada sauces, and mixed as a marinade for roasted sweet potatoes.

A Dip Fit for a Party!

This dip is one of my go-to party dips. I like to pair it with crackers, fresh vegetables, or toasted bread for an easy-to-transport appetizer. I also love how bright the color is; the dip’s a great conversation starter as people are usually curious what’s in it.

Ways to Use Leftover Dip

Best of all, leftover dip can be then used in enchiladas or quesadillas. The dip makes an excellent filling for enchiladas: simply top with enchilada sauce and cheese (or avocado to keep vegan). Or spread the dip with a bit of cheese between two tortillas for an easy lunch or snack.

More Great Party Dips!

Easy Artichoke Dip Caramelized Onion Dip Buffalo Chicken Dip Spinach Artichoke Dip with Bacon Hot Reuben Dip

Chips Chopped cilantro

Place both the sweet potatoes and shallots on a rimmed baking sheet and toss with 2 tablespoons of olive oil and sea salt. Roast until the sweet potatoes are tender, about 25 to 30 minutes.