Vegetable Stir Fry

I make this approximately once a week, and it completely baffles me how I’ve been running this recipe website for 5 years (!!) without sharing it. A Vegetable Stir Fry is:

my end-of-week Fridge Forage meal; how I (happily) consume a ton of vegetables in one sitting; something I make with a mix of vegetables – or just one (like snow peas or Asian mushrooms).

I serve it over rice or noodles. I toss noodles into it while cooking. I top homemade Chinese noodle soups with it. And I make instant ramen respectable by piling on this saucy stir fried vegetables. So I repeat again – 5 years. No recipe. BAFFLED. 🤷🏻‍♀️

What goes in my Vegetable Stir Fry

You can basically ignore all the vegetables in the photo below, and visualise whatever YOU want  to use! Just use the sauce part of my recipe. 🙂

100% yes, you’ll need 4 tablespoons of Charlie and directions are in the recipe below. For new readers, “Charlie” is my ready made All Purpose Chinese Stir Fry Sauce. RTE readers and I love him so much, we’ve named him. He has a shelf life of months, and can be used in 90% of my stir fries and noodles, either outright or with the addition of a few extra flavourings. Try him once, and you’ll be obsessed with him too!

How to make stir fried vegetables

There’s only two rules here:

What order to cook vegetables in stir fries

There’s no need to turn this into an exact science! Just start by cooking aromatics to form the flavour base then add vegetables that take the longest to cook first, and delicate things like leafy greens towards the end. Here’s a rough guide: Pre cooked vegetables – broccoli, cauliflower and broccolini should be pre-cooked prior to using in a stir fry as they take too long to cook from raw in a stir fry (unless chopped small). And though I rarely use them in stir fries, I also pre cook things like pumpkin, potato, squash, and other root vegetables.

A big skillet of vegetables never looked so tasty!! Also – the stir fry sauce. I like making plenty of it so it can soak through the rice or noodles, or whatever you serve it over. It’s also particularly good at disguising cauliflower rice – for those of you trying to cut down on carbs. 😇

What to serve with Stir Fried Vegetables

This can be served as:

a main dish with rice or noodles (try cauliflower rice for a low carb option); or a vegetable side dish.

Though this stir fry has Chinese origins, don’t restrict yourself to serving this alongside just Chinese dishes. You’ll see similar version of this sauce used all across Asia. So serve it as a vegetable side the next time you make any Asian dishes – such as Vietnamese, Thai or Japanese! Here are a few suggestions (just a few….😂):

What to serve with Stir Fried Vegetables

Woah. For someone who’s taken so long to share such a simple recipe, I sure did have a lot to say about it! 😂 – Nagi x

Watch how to make it

Life of Dozer

More Dozer pool action! Well, not so much action here, just Dozer climbing out of the pool. Currently using a ramp because the step in is so high, he actually sprained his lower back with all his crazy leaping in and out. I know, I know. First World Problems.🙈

Vegetable Stir Fry - 91Vegetable Stir Fry - 74Vegetable Stir Fry - 8Vegetable Stir Fry - 98Vegetable Stir Fry - 2Vegetable Stir Fry - 33Vegetable Stir Fry - 72