This is a reader-favourite recipe included by popular demand in my debut cookbook “Dinner”!

Vietnamese Rice Paper Rolls – always a hit!!

If I took a platter of these to a gathering with my friends, I guarantee they’d be one of the first things to go. Everybody I know loves these. Even the hardest of hard-core carnivores munch these down as enthusiastically as they would a rack of ribs. They truly are that good. Vietnamese food is my idea of the ultimate “accidently healthy” food. Sure, there are a handful of deep fried recipes. But generally, most Vietnamese dishes are super fresh, full of bright flavours, loaded with herbs and salads, with just a bit of protein. Dressings and sauces are refreshingly light and devoid of oil, unlike basically every Western dressing! I think that Vietnamese Rice Paper Rolls are one of those things that people love but always assume are just too fiddly or too hard to make. To dispel of that myth, let me tell you – I am not into fiddly. That’s why you’ll never see fancy decorated cakes on my blog. I simply don’t have the patience or co-ordination for fiddly dishes – sweet or savoury. I actually posted this recipe way back when I started my blog. A couple of years on, and my photos have somewhat improved but more importantly – VIDEO! I REALLY wanted to remake this with a video, it is so great to be able to demonstrate how to make these rolls.

Tips to make Vietnamese Rice Paper Rolls

In addition to the video, I have 2 little tips that can make your Vietnamese Rice Paper Roll Making Life so much easier: PS The reason the prawns and lettuce bundle are laid out in different positions on the rice paper is so there is only layer of rice paper on the prawns once rolled up – makes the prawns more visible. Ie Pretty rolls.

Peanut Dipping Sauce for Rice Paper Rolls

This peanut sauce is everything!! This is a Vietnamese Peanut Dipping Sauce. The 2 key ingredients are peanut butter and hoisin sauce which is thinned out with either milk or water (I prefer milk for colour. With water, the sauce is darker). Plus vinegar for a bit of tang (really needs it), garlic (it ain’t Asian if there’s no garlic in it!) and a touch of chilli if you want (which I love). It’s different to Thai / Malaysian / Chinese style peanut sauces and I think you and this Vietnamese Peanut Sauce are going to be very good friends. 🙂 So…..what do you think? 🙂 Have I convinced you to try your hand at becoming a Rice Paper Roll Master?? – Nagi xx PS There are a bunch of other filling ideas in the recipe notes. I’ve kept this fairly classic. PPS Even if they are wonky, they still taste incredible!!!

Watch How To Make It

This recipe features in my debut cookbook Dinner. The book is mostly new recipes, but this is a reader favourite included by popular demand! Originally posted in July 2014, updated with new words, an even better peanut dipping sauce, new photos and a video!

Life Of Dozer

“WHY is she setting fire to my food???!!!” HAPPY BIRTHDAY DOZER!! I want to tell you that he had an extra special day….but honestly? It’s like every day is his birthday…. SaveSave

Vietnamese Rice Paper Rolls - 86Vietnamese Rice Paper Rolls - 9Vietnamese Rice Paper Rolls - 55Vietnamese Rice Paper Rolls - 23Vietnamese Rice Paper Rolls - 79Vietnamese Rice Paper Rolls - 21Vietnamese Rice Paper Rolls - 65Vietnamese Rice Paper Rolls - 76Vietnamese Rice Paper Rolls - 86Vietnamese Rice Paper Rolls - 91